top of page
Different craft materials

Discover Hollie's Homemade Life

Your Go-To Source For DIY Ideas

Hi there and welcome to Hollie's Homemade Life! It's a unique blog filled with craft projects, tasty recipes, home decor, and a little about life itself here in the Midwest. I love having the opportunity to share my passions and thoughts with my loyal readers. I hope to inspire you to try your hand at making something along with me. Read on, and enjoy!

  • Hollie's Homemade Life

DIY: Knot Pillow



DIY: Knot Pillow

OK, I'll admit it. I am a sucker for any kind of cute or unique accent pillow. I am the girl who will gravitate towards the pillow aisle in any store to check out what they have on hand and day dream where in my home I can place it. When my best friend, Becky, suggested I try and make a knot pillow out of tights (yes, tights!) I was fully intrigued and 100% all in for trying to make it.



 


The knot pillow is basically like making a bigger version of a good luck knot. For this, I had to learn just what a good luck knot is exactly and how to make it. The videos below show step 1 and step 2 on how to make this knot for your pillow. Practice making the knot a couple of times before you start on the pillow.









 


Materials you will need:


2 pairs of opaque tights (I bought a black pair and gray pair)

Poly-Fil (I used 2 1/2 bags)

Needle

Thread

Safety Pins

Scissors





First, you need to stuff both of the tights with Poly-Fil. I didn't realize just how much Poly-Fil these tights needed until I was 2 1/2 bags in and and finished filling the second pair of tights.





I filled both tights up to the top thigh line (or brief line).





(Nothing stops Sarabella from getting to the patio window, not even stuffed tights)



When you are finished filling both tights with Poly-Fil, they should look like the picture below. Kind of crazy looking, huh?





Cross both pairs of tights at the center, making a plus sign (+) and pin them together. You can now start making the first step of the knot.


Start at the top and bend each leg (haha!) over its neighbor going in a counter clockwise direction. The last leg you are going to bend it over its neighbor and through the loop made by the first leg.





Pull each of them little by little to form the first part of the knot.




Do the same thing as above but, this time, go in a clockwise direction.




Once again, pull them little by little until you are happy with the way your pillow looks.





Next, you will pin the ends to the back of the pillow. When you have the ends pinned where you want them, sew them in place.





Voila! You have yourself a very unique looking knot pillow. You also have the amusement of seeing everyone's expressions when you tell them that your pillow is actually made out of tights. Who would have thought?!





 

The knot pillow is actually a very comfortable head pillow. I took a good 20 minute nap after I finished making it, you know, to see how well it would work. It almost reminds me of an oversized travel pillow with the way it supports the head. While I won't be taking it with me on long trips, I will be using it as a nice accent pillow in our recliner in the living room or on our bed.





The knot pillow was pretty simple to make and didn't take too much time at all. It took me about 40 minutes in all with stuffing both tights, making the knot, and sewing the ends to the back.


Thank you so much for the idea Becky!


If you have any ideas you would like to see me make, leave me a comment, email me, or you can send me message on here or on Hollie's Homemade Life Facebook page.

Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Baking
Home: Contact
bottom of page