top of page
Different craft materials

Discover Hollie's Homemade Life

Your Go-To Source For DIY Ideas

Hi there and welcome to Hollie's Homemade Life! It's a unique blog filled with craft projects, tasty recipes, home decor, and a little about life itself here in the Midwest. I love having the opportunity to share my passions and thoughts with my loyal readers. I hope to inspire you to try your hand at making something along with me. Read on, and enjoy!

  • Hollie's Homemade Life

DIY: Heart Shaped Wreath



Valentine Heart Shaped Wreath

I'm the kind of girl who is a hopeless romantic. I admire love and romance. This is why I get excited when Valentine's Day rolls around. It's the time of year where you not only celebrate the love between your friends, family, and significant other but, you can decorate your house in adorable Valentine decor as well. Valentine's Day also gives me the advantage of decorating the house in my favorite color, pink.


This year, instead of buying store made Valentine decor, I wanted to make something quick and simple to place in my home. I'm all about making my own decor and the end result of this DIY turned out wonderful. And who doesn't like an easy craft that even the kids could help make?



 

Materials you will need:


Fabric (cotton blend)

Foam Hearts (12 inch)

Scissors

Hot Glue (Optional)





I started out with fabric that was 18" W x 33" L. Measuring across the top of the fabric, I marked every inch because I decided I wanted 1 inch strips.




Cut a slit where you made your pen marks and rip the fabric into strips lengthwise. Ripping the fabric gives it a unique frayed look.







Once you have 18 strips, cut each of them into three 11 inch pieces. When you are finished, it's time to put them on your foam heart. I found the foam hearts at my local Joann store.



First, fold your 11 inch piece in half. Place it under the foam heart with the folded end on the outside. Open the folded side so that it makes a loop. Take the other end of your piece and pull it up over the foam heart and through the loop. Pull until secure. Make sure you tie the pieces around the heart all the same way, otherwise, you will have pieces that look out of place.





Keep tying your fabric pieces like this around the foam until you get to the bottom point of the heart. When I got to this part, I found it hard to tie the fabric because of the point, so I wrapped a piece of fabric around it instead and hot glued it to the back side of the heart. I hot glued the back of each fabric piece around the heart as well to ensure they stay put. You could also wrap the fabric around the bottom and tie both ends together in the back. I then tied a fabric piece on both sides of the point to hide most of the fabric I had wrapped around the bottom.



Back side of the foam heart and halfway done


Front side of foam heart and finished


 


This is such a simple and inexpensive Valentine's Day craft idea. One wreath costs a total of $6.00.




It didn't take much time to put together either. These wreaths only took me about one romantic Hallmark movie on TV to make.





This wreath would make a great addition to anyone's Valentine decor. You can either hang it on your front door or place it on a small side table. You could even gift it to a special someone in your life. What is your favorite part of Valentine's Day?





Home: Blog2

Subscribe

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Contact

Your details were sent successfully!

Baking
Home: Contact
bottom of page